LES BOSTON CELTICS

CELTICS NOTEBOOK: Jermaine O’Neal could return to face 76ers

 
By Jim Fenton
Posted Dec 22, 2010 @ 02:12 AM
 
     

He has missed 18 games over the last 43 days because of a sore left knee.

The extended time on the inactive list will probably be coming to an end for Boston Celtics center Jermaine O’Neal either tonight or on Christmas Day.

After going through his second straight practice session on Tuesday afternoon, O’Neal said there is a “50-50’’ chance he will be available to face the Philadelphia 76ers tonight at the TD Garden.

“I’m feeling OK,’’ said O’Neal, who has played just seven games in his first season with the Celtics. “I’m still trying to get the cardio and conditioning together. At some point, I will play this week, whether it’s (tonight) or Christmas Day (in Orlando against the Magic).’’

O’Neal was unable to play in the second half of a Nov. 8 loss against the Dallas Mavericks because of knee soreness, and he has spent nearly a quarter of the season trying to get healthy.

The Celtics have been left with 38-year-old Shaquille O’Neal, who has missed seven games this season, and rookie Semih Erden at the center spot.

Jermaine O’Neal said the knee is not bothering him now and that it is just a matter of getting into proper playing shape.

“I think I can help the team, but for how long, I don’t know,’’ said O’Neal, who is averaging 5.6 points and 3.6 rebounds. “That (conditioning) would probably be the only thing (holding him back). I think as far as the knee itself, it’s been fine.’’

O’Neal was scheduled to talk with Coach Doc Rivers and the team’s medical staff to decide whether he goes against the 76ers tonight or waits until the end of the week.

“My body’s going to be a little sore because I’ve been out for a month and a half,’’ said O’Neal. “There’s a difference between soreness and pain, and right now, I’m just a little sore.

“This is who I am right now. This is what God has given me right now and we deal with it and move forward. I feel like the break is going to help. I can’t guarantee that the knee is not going to flare up, but right now, I feel good and I feel strong and I feel I will help the team.’’

The Celtics signed O’Neal to a two-year, $12 million contract last summer, hoping he would be the starting center with Kendrick Perkins recovering from knee surgery.

O’Neal was injured during training camp, and Shaquille O’Neal moved in front of him. Now, Jermaine O’Neal is ready to get going on a team that has won 13 consecutive games

“I can alter some shots. I can get some rebounds,’’ said O’Neal, who has been fitted for a brace. “I think that’s something that you don’t really need chemistry and you don’t need rhythm (to be able to do). I think that’s what Doc is expecting from me. From that aspect, I feel that no matter what, I can do that.

“I am looking to get back. It’s been a while. It’s been almost two month since I played a game. Sometimes you get tired of watching and cheering. You have to go when you feel like it’s doable. I feel like I’m close’’

No word on Rondo: Rivers said there is no update on the sprained ankle that has sidelined Rajon Rondo the past two games. He was in the weight room walking without a limp while wearing sandals after practice. … The NBA has downgraded a flagrant-1 foul that was called on Glen Davis in the first half of last Thursday night’s win over the Atlanta Hawks. Davis is now charged with just a regular foul after grabbing Zaza Pachulia around the neck. … The Celtics will be leaving for central Florida on Thursday morning and practice in Orlando on the day before Christmas. They will stay in Orlando until Monday morning, departing for Indiana where the Celtics meet the Pacers on Tuesday night.



22/12/2010
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 2 autres membres